50 Days of 50: Take Care Of Yourself DAY 9

Mafia Hairdresser4/17/2012 Day 9

Did you take care of yourself? Or is your body full of aches and pains like the rest of the 50 year olds? I hope for your sake that you did the best you could to be healthy because it’s true: If you don’t have your health you can become super bummed out which would make your mid-life much harder than it has to be.

I’ve had my health problems but I’ve never had anything that I could not overcome. There always seemed to be that special Quantum Touch healer, chiropractor, doctor, personal trainer, acupuncturist or massage therapist who could help me make my way back to feeling 100%. Thank you, to all of you. You always seemed to show up when I needed you most.

Lately, as you may know, I have been feeling a little anxiety about turning 50. One of the reasons is that many people my age are old and achy and have given up on reaching or striving for the 100%. I don’t understand the acceptance of less-than. And now that I’m “old” I’m scared shitless because it’s so much harder to stay feeling fantastically fit and I’m afraid that if I ever have any more physical challenges (IBS, Rotator Cuff, Bursitis, Allergies) that it might take longer to heal and then I’d be more inclined to throw in the towel. That would make me sad so I do what I can and I hope that you do too.

I guess I’m almost done with this entry but I want to leave you with a 50 year olds’ particular viewpoint and advice: Please don’t accept anything less than a stellar life. Use what you got, body and mind, and be all that you know in your heart that you are called to be. Step up and take responsible for what you put into your mind and your body. You may have obstacles that you have to accept but you don’t want them to be the things that people see when they come in contact with you. Open your heart and think and pray for what you know to be true: Your life is a gift and you might have to change the way you think and do things to actually enjoy it.

To those of you who “threw in the towel,” or are just too tired, and to those who aged too quickly (in my mind) for whatever reason, I forgive you. It’s hard to get older and I hope you don’t think I’m judging you.

Well, I’m off to the gym now. Ta!

MafiaHairdresser.com for more

Leave a comment

Filed under 50 Days of 50, Humor

Leave a Reply

